2004-02-18

CRAP.

���� I was going to go to the library tonight after work but I decided to go home to watch Electra Woman and Dyna Girl on TVLand. I ended up MISSING IT! because my dad and I decided to debate at maximum volume for about 2 hours on public schools and what might be done to improve them. I think where we differ is that I seem to care that the final product have certain qualities -- that it be an embodiment of some kind of (I guess) humanist values -- while he just cares that it be productive and cost efficient. --Which I guess is the standard problem of liberal bogdown vs. conservative determinism... something... but it's like conservatives envision mechanical systems that allow for only one dimension of feedback when we could easily throw in some vacuum tubes or punchcards for a basic computing power that at least approximates two or three. Or we can drop the metaphors and just say that an unwillingness to venture outside the positivist realm unless chaperoned by God is not going to result in humanity's competently handling any of the myriad issues:

����education
����robots
����homosexuals
����cloning
����money
����stuff
����population
����and so on

���� So far though, nobody's quite managed a sophisticated approach -- at least for now, then, our addressable problems remain who-has-clean-water-and-who-hasn't. But let's at least keep a list of things that are going on now that haven't really gone on before. By that I don't mean things like cloning, I mean things like this.

���� Unrelatedly, the stars of this tv show are the best stars of any tv show. Better even than Electra Woman and Dyna Girl.


0 Comments

 First

 List

 Email

 Comments

 Latest

statcounter.com