2004-02-12

Ay, rundown.

    Last Friday it rained, so the crunch snow on the pond melted and bump ice replaced it. So I went skating, I forget which weekend day, first of the season. There were lots of bubble traps. I saw some birds and 2 kids.

    Saturday I went to the library all day. The previous Tuesday I had gone to the library all day also, instead of going to work. Surprisingly, I didn't fall asleep either time. Here's what I was doing, and here's what I look like forfeiting $58 to do it. I don't actually look like that anymore because I got a haircut. Anyway, the library is way better than work.

    Saturday evening I went to see the Lord of the Rings.

    Sunday I went to the library again, only it was closed. Duh. I'd even written the hours down a few weeks back. So I drove down to the beach and parked facing l'oceano. It was dark-bright gray out, very windy and cold. The water was lively. I sat in the car and read for a couple hours. There were huge chunks of ice everywhere.

    Sunday night I did the daycare and even though I haven't been scared there in a while, for some reason I was FILLED WITH DREAD. I wasn't keeping track of my thoughts so there's no record of how I got to that, but it included thinking about this photographer whose book I saw some years ago -- dead people and parts of dead people posed in freaky diaramas, wearing goggles and tubes and crap. Wings attached and such. Normally that stuff doesn't bug me, but along with the weird feeling it was too much. Ugh. Even the usually delightful Doolittle started to get to me. I listened to the radio some and that helped. I also sang to myself for a while -- Velvet Underground:

    A wild wild party when they start to unwind
    A close encounter of the thirdest kind
    On the bandstand grooving, everybody moving
    How in the world were they making that sound?
    Velvet Underground


    Monday morning I went to the Nathaniel Morton School in downtown Plymouth and met one of my eventual three reading partners, first grader Isabella. We talked about her home state of Colorado, read 8 pages of a book, and had a fun time with the word "knack." Awesome, awesome, awesome. On the way back to my car I took some pictures of Plymouth Harbor and then headed off toward work. Presently, however, I felt disinclined to go straight there. I turned off the highway and got lost in north/west Plymouth for about 40 minutes.

    Since then it's been the usual routine: I do people's taxes all day at work -- we win some and lose some. When we lose, sometimes the taxpayer turns on me. In between the winning and the losing, I try to get some studying done. Then I drive home and think about studying but instead watch tv or play the guitar. Switch to studying around 10, but fall asleep by 11. Wake up around 12:30, have a glass of juice, go to bed. Wake up at 6:30 and go back to work.

    I did my OWN taxes today and the result is that I get paid $1100. Nice, but it just goes right back to them since I still owe like $4000 from last year. If it even comes to me -- they may just keep it. Anyway it's the biggest refund I've gotten, even though I made hardly anything last year. Hardly anything at all. I made like fourteen dollars.

    Nicholas sent me some kind of herbal medicine that he wants me to take, so I'm taking it; it's an eyedropper kind of thing. I squirt it in my mouth and then wash it down with V8 or grapefruit juice or something dramatic because the stuff tastes AWFUL! also, it's like fire. Four days in, I was like, "MAN, this fire; a naturally ocurring fire? it's remarkable, this fire." And then I was like, "oh, right, this is alcohol. this is what alcohol tastes like." Ha ha ha.

    Como p�jaro.


0 Comments

 First

 List

 Email

 Comments

 Latest

statcounter.com