2000-10-15

It was hot today. Beth and Erwin and Aaron came by after the wedding of Holly and Joe, Beth was hoping for some water I think. I didn't let them in though because the place is a mess, I just walked them to the hotel where the reception is. They were wearing: blue dress, blue tie, grey suit, checkered jacket, white shirt, dark grey pants. Erwin has square toed shoes. I didn't notice Aaron's tie or Beth's shoes. We passed the masonic temple.

����Cat is dissatisfied with me. He just sits and looks at me. If I say something to him he either ignores it or he goes to the other room. Also, a few times he's gotten anxious when I've stood up or sat down unexpectedly. He's usually at ease, but these little things seem to get him.

����Jim and I talked about trading votes. He tried to convince me in the car to vote for Gore because Bush is obviously a fuckwad and a vote for Nader is a vote for Bush. I wasn't convinced though on the grounds that the basic democratic unit is the belief in a candidacy by a citizen, and that people should vote for the candidate they want rather than voting for a presumed outcome. Thinking on it now though, that's exactly what I'm doing since I don't necessarily think Nader would make the best president of the three. I think that supporting a third party's growth will improve the quality of future campaigns and I think the Green Party in particular, and Nader, represent what is right. I'm more interested in the long-term outcome of Green Party influence on politics and on American consciousness than I am in Nader becoming president. I was also wrong in that the basic democratic unit isn't a person's conscience, it's a person's vote. (The Electoral College is good evidence of that and besides, we're a democratic republic.)
����And don't I care, Jim asks, about the immediate threat that is Bush? Do I only care about the abstract?
����Blah blah blah, since Bush is definitely going to win in Virginia, I suggested Jim's vote would be best put to use boosting Nader's numbers. Okay he says, in return for his VA vote for Nader, my DC vote would be for Gore. That's the plan as it stands; I really need to convince Jim that since his VA Gore vote is worthless he's morally obligated to vote for Nader regardless of what I do. This is near impossible but it's the only way to free my vote since it's a fair trade and I can't cheat. And I should confirm that DC is a closer race than VA, because I have no idea. I have no idea about VA either, I'm just going on what Jim said.


0 Comments

 First

 List

 Email

 Comments

 Latest

statcounter.com