2003-07-21

The weekend was pretty good, as mostly solitary weekends go. Saturday there was a neighborhood cleanup, and 8 people attended. Of the several thousand people living in the neighborhood, at least the 22 in the neighborhood watch committee could have shown up. Anyway, that was 3 hours of crawling around in the bushes picking up cups, can, bottles, pill wrappers, cigarette butts, condoms, clothes, etc. Also trimming bushes overhanging the sidewalk. Afterwards I went swimming for a bit at the tire beach and then had an idea for a project, which I started immediately:

���� Open up the cheap Radio Shack keyboard that I never play, take out all the circuit boards, disconnect the speakers, and remove all excess plastic surrounding the keys.
Open up the small Fender amp, take out the amp, disconnect the speaker.
Take the big 20 year old speaker I have in the basement and cut holes in the cabinet to accomodate the keyboard on the long side and the amp control panel on the short side.
Wire it all together, close it up, give it a nice paint job, and and learn how to play Superstitious.

���� That went well into the night.

���� Sunday I hung out on the deck for a bit in the morning, and then chaperoned the cat on his first untethered spacewalk in the front yard. That lasted 30 or so minutes, and he was mostly interested in chewing on the clover. I drifted eventually into the basement to do some more sawing, and I checked if all the electronic innards strewn everywhere were working, which they were. I drove to Radio Shack and got some cords, phone plugs, and jacks; returned home, did some more sawing and sanding; went swimming; and then went to clean floors.

���� Dinner was some nice salad and grilled peppers, and then back to the project. Later I spent some time on the phone, and then I chatted with Becky on AIM.

���� Considering I have no friends nearby, the weekend was decent. Got some sun, some exercise, started a project. Oh, and my bike has a flat tire.


0 Comments

 First

 List

 Email

 Comments

 Latest

statcounter.com