2008-10-02

The view from my apartment windows is of college students. Our apts all look out onto an empty cement courtyard, a few with blinds up and windows open. The students are dressed in sweatshirts and wrapped in blankets, reading; they are eating and talking and watching tv and revolving around one another; they are text messaging, which momentarily lights their faces, repeatedly.

    I like the idea that I might also be observed with that fixed stare and screenlit face; it's kind of a striking image of myself that I know I'll continue to go completely unaware of. And unlike other things, this is an okay thing to participate in unawares. (Contrast it with the fixed stare that I perform sitting on my ass at work.)

    I'm going to try to get up at 6:00, drive to Hull, surf for 60-90 min and then catch the commuter boat to Boston. After work, the reverse. Hopefully your sleeping fingers are now crossing themselves.


1 Comments

Chris - 2008-10-02 14:00:09
I didn't make it. I "decided" that being in the ocean would be way less pleasant than being in bed. Damn, but oh well. After work.

 First

 List

 Email

 Comments

 Latest

statcounter.com