2004-10-03

Friday night I ended up sleeping at the office because, well, I get sucked into things and then suddenly it's 1 am and (presumably) I've missed the last train. I'd have had to walk to my car, which was kind of far away; I figured I'd better spend the travel-home hour sleeping--I had to be back at work at eight the next morning anyway. So I slept on some chairs in the little library, and it was like camping, sort of. When I woke up my left arm was sore but that was expected--apparently one of the injections I had Friday morning does that. Also that morning: I should have taken a picture of the blood bubbling out of my arm into a tube.

���� So I had class until 2:30, and it was okay. The second class, on MS Access, shouldn't have been offered. It's impossible to teach database development to beginners in two hours. It's ridiculous to say, "you could benefit from making your own relational database, but it's not worth the effort it'll take you to do it. You should spend the time learning Excel." But they liked the class anyway, it seemed.

���� At 3:15 I walked over to Copley and bought a ticket to see "Ghost in the Shell 2: Innocence." I was thrilled to discover that this sequel to the excellent 1996 anime existed and was playing in a nearby theater. I bought a soda and went in. And I loved it; it was amazing; it made me think "Hero" was crap (which I kind of thought it was anyway, despite its likable characters and neat 19th-century-short-story-style plot); it surprised me by focusing on a character from the first movie that I hadn't thought was too interesting (but it works). It creates a richly-realized future world that envelops you in a way that recent science fiction movies have failed to do. The only problem is that I fell asleep halfway through.

���� When I woke up I thought "Agh! I never fall asleep in movies! At least not since 'Spy Kids 2.' I've lost track of this. I should leave so as to not spoil the ending." But in those few moments of being awake again before deciding to leave, the characters were trying to blast their way down this robot-filled tunnelly thing, and the music was really exciting, and I had to really force myself to leave.

���� So I walked back to my car ( I passed some amazing scenes of grandparents rolling around on grass with toddlers) and drove home. Joyce's parents were so excited at my arrival. I explained where I'd been for the last 36 hours and they seemed to think it charming. They went out for a walk and I took a shower. Later, Joyce's dad gave me a pack of chinese cigarettes to give to my dad. And a chinese lighter.

���� Sleeping in my bed was nice and I woke up at 11. Now I take a Typhoid pill, get dressed and go to Plymouth.


0 Comments

 First

 List

 Email

 Comments

 Latest

statcounter.com