2003-06-16

Becky told me about a midnight showing of The Adventures of Prince Achmed, so I went to that on Friday night. I don't mind at all doing things by myself, but since doing anything these days means driving an hour to get there and an hour to get back home, the net feeling is a little bit lonely. Not an aching kind of lonely, just a solo sort of lonely. Just enough to know it was there. Which reminds me: Saturday night I watched Attack of the Clones, and then Sunday afternoon I felt a slight, somehow related yearning. For what I don't know -- space travel, religious combat training, comaraderie, adventure -- but I love how movies can do that.
���� Anyway, Prince Achmed was sort of a funny, mysterious, smoky vision, but I was pretty sleepy so of course that was my impression. I was sleepy once during a different silent movie about early 20th century Russians playing sports and using various exercise machines, and I thought that was a funny, mysterious, smoky vision as well.

����My grandparents came over yesterday, which was nice. They seem to be getting more peaceful by way of the process that makes old people physically slower and lighter and stiffer, like they're slowly turning into a Crunchie; meanwhile my parents are getting more peaceful by way of exhaustion. Although their not bugging me about crap seems evidence of a genuine newfound wisdom.




0 Comments

 First

 List

 Email

 Comments

 Latest

statcounter.com