2004-03-25

I was in the library the other day and I figured I'd get another audiobook for all the driving I do. Nicholas told me months ago that all people 100% NEED to experience the Harry Potter audiobooks -- he and Emily listened to several of them on the way out to Oregon and were mesmerized. Well, there were two Harrys on the shelf -- the second and the fourth; having recently seen the movie of the second and being yet unfamiliar with the third, neither seemed a good choice. I was getting bored with all the shelf scanning and was just about to leave when I saw on the shelf the recording of The Human Stain, which I remembered having read about a year or two ago; the reviewer called it "album of the year." So in my car now is the splintery plastic box containing fourteen hours' reading on eight cassettes. I'm on the fifth and so far it's pretty good.

���� I've been really busy somehow, lately. At work, there's this powerpoint thing that True See made that I had to spruce up (animate) for a recent meeting -- but I couldn't just do it, I had to do it with him, show him how -- sit there while, each time faced with a snippet of text, he'd insist again on reciting its 10 lines of verbal counterpart. The boss required that there be zipping and whooshing of text boxes, and pictures, and there's even some gunshot sounds. Everybody calls that "hot," so I try to refrain from arguing that powerpoint is corny and lame and that True See would be better off just speaking his knowledge without the distraction of bulleted points and crap to follow.

���� Tuesday morning my alarm went off at 6:30 and I thought, "agh, why did I not turn that off last night?!" I fumbled to shut it down and then rolled over for three more hours of (I thought) Sunday morning sleepfulness. I got up at 9:30, read a bit of Thucydides'History of the Peloponnesian War (which is interesting but the book I wanted to be on the bookshelf was the history of the Persian Wars, which happened forty years earlier and, by all accounts, made for a better story in about a hundred different ways), read the first few pages of Gulliver's Travels (from the same bookshelf), had some raisin bran, took a shower, blah blah blah blah...

���� ...eventually (around noon), I realized that it was Tuesday. I had really been enjoying my Sunday, but I called work anyway; True See needed me for the presentation thing, so I drove in. Sort of annoying, but I've probably have gotten bored soon anyway.

���� It's 1:16
���� why always this aversion to bed at night?


0 Comments

 First

 List

 Email

 Comments

 Latest

statcounter.com