2001-03-04

This afternoon I fell asleep for a long time. 2 to 5 maybe. On Beth's futon, right after scrambled eggs, bagel and grape juice. Weird dreams ensued:

�����I was in a big hotel and not allowed to be there because of a formal event. A formal event in the 1950s in which old crooners were present and all the men were wearing tuxedos and all the women were wearing those old playboy bunny-type outfits but with capes and epaulets etc. like marching band uniforms. A few of the women had coattails attached, and they seemed to be there both as honored guests and as organizers. There weren't any male organizers and all the guests were honored guests.
�����It was pre-showtime and I needed to disguise myself in order to avoid capture. I put on the bottom half of a bunny outfit, which turned out to be a big white plastic and canvas thorax that I stuck my legs through. A little lucidly I wondered how on earth a doll pelvis was sexy.
�����I ran through the grand ballroom, which was being set up on one end with a wooden pipe organ as big as a cathedral. Across the middle of the ballroom, an old lady did a bunch of handsprings to a crooked handstand. A tuxedoed gentleman helped straighten her up. There were crooners in their corners, crooning. Guests of eminence were milling around. It was fun and I kept running.
�����Eventually I found a stairway being guarded by another old lady and I had to jump over the railing to pass her. Jumping over the railing made it seem like I was on a cruise ship and in dreams on cruise ships, I often fight the French. Three times now, at least, I've fought the French. I found a hiding spot behind the stage where I spied on some Frenchmen and I swore when I got out of that place, I'd find some American generals to tell about it. Then my thorax lit up and I had to find a better hiding spot. I dashed across the stage at exactly the right second and nobody saw me. I was interrupted though--I half woke up for a few seconds because Erwin was leaving Beth's.

�����Asleep again, there was another, different dream. I was in my darkened room in a hotel in Mexico City, midday, talking on the phone. I was looking down at the swimming pools, talking about the swimming pools, saying how if this hotel had a pool, I'd use it. If you know what I mean, or whatever.
�����The person on the other end was in some other, darker, more nighttime city, and remarked that the museum had been fun, especially the sarcophagus, and why don't I find a way to use a pool, because Jesus it's hot, just don't swallow any water.
�����Also, had I opened the package in my bag?, which I hadn't; it was still wrapped in the white tissue. It was a birthday present, I found out, pleased to learn that I was in Mexico City for my birthday. I unwrapped the gift and I didn't know what it was but I was excited and felt like staying with it. I felt like staying with the present but Jesus it was hot.
�����The phone was the old heavy plastic kind, beige and fat, that is easily taken apart. I wanted to mention the next few days, getting back to the sarcophagus, because I wanted to be in two places at once. Three, actually: back in the nighttime city, here on the phone, and down at the pool. But what was I talking about three places at once? the air around me was all golden.


0 Comments

 First

 List

 Email

 Comments

 Latest

statcounter.com