2005-01-12

Here�s a lazy afternoon IM between Becky and me, Wednesday August 21, 2002.

����I was �working� at the U.S. Department of Labor as a coordinator for the Presidential Something-or-Other on the Employment of Adults with Disabilities - the part of it where a group of brilliant disabled youths give their input. Becky was working at some Israeli-American thingy.


REMINDER: Never give out your password or credit card number in an instant message conversation.
lovely says:
you there?
lovely says:
I have a question
lovely says:
--check out real audio?--
lovely says:
I was trying to downlaod a free one,
lovely says:
but they've made it trickier now--
lovely says:
trying to snag you into a free trial of the fancy one...
lovely says:
but I found old versions,-
lovely says:
so I tried getting realaudio basic 8
lovely says:
or something--
lovely says:
I have it ready to install on my desktop--
lovely says:
but I wanted to be sure that it's not going to cost money--
lovely says:
or that it's not somehow connecting to the address and to some computer $ account here,
lovely says:
do you know what I'm saying?...
lovely says:
like it might be charging me without telling me,
lovely says:
and then will automatically bill the place here,
lovely says:
if it's connected to an address...
lovely says:
and if I "accept" the contrct thing that you have to accept when you download stuff
Tennessee says:
are you downloading "real one"?
lovely says:
no
lovely says:
version 8 basic
Tennessee says:
because the most recent version of real player is called real one. there's no real player anymore.

are you downloading from this page?
http://forms.real.com/real/player/blackjack.html
Tennessee says:
oh ok
Tennessee says:
well, what you said about secretly charging that cmoputer
Tennessee says:
real player 8 is free anyway, as you said, so if that's what gets installed, then there's no charge. if you see a button mentioning installion of something else, just don't press it.

i can't test it here because i'm locked out of installing anything
lovely says:
ha--
lovely says:
laura was like, 'can you download stuff there?' [trying to get me to downlaoad yahoo messenger]
lovely says:
and I said, yeah
lovely says:
and she said 'stupid people.'
lovely says:
haaaa
Tennessee says:
ha ha
lovely says:
how was selene?
Tennessee says:
ok. i asked what the bad stuff was, what was going on, and she said she didn't feel like she could talk to me. i said, "because i'm a bad listener? for legal reasons? because i can't keep secrets?" and she sort of laughed at my joke but said nothing.
lovely says:
hey what's her address--
Tennessee says:
then she asked if i could take the car to be repaired some morning soon and i said i'd check on what was a good day and call her back
lovely says:
I'm going to write her a note asking if she wants dinner made bh me
Tennessee says:
and when i did she seemed much more at ease and happy
Tennessee says:
she said jenlene is coming over tonight. they're going to watch a movie and i forget what else
Tennessee says:
you can ask though
lovely says:
oh ok
Tennessee says:
i mean watch an indoor movie
Tennessee says:
her email is [email protected]
lovely says:
ah, she got her name at hotmail before it was taken!
lovely says:
haha that's kind of a joke...
Tennessee says:
ha yes
lovely says:
you know, dbecause I bet no one has that name
lovely says:
rebecca-------@yahoo. is taken
lovely says:
and rebecca------ with one l at hotmail is taken, and she gets lots of mail of mine, but never sends it.
lovely says:
and I get nothing of hers.
lovely says:
....unless ... UNLESS SHE's the one behind all these sex pics of the day
Tennessee says:
how do you know she gets your mail?
lovely says:
i just know that my cousin and some others have sent me things to one l ----l
lovely says:
at hotmail
Tennessee says:
oh
lovely says:
and they've not been returned
Tennessee says:
you should write to her and ask please forward. ask her to put your name in her address list for easy forwarding
lovely says:
h
lovely says:
A
lovely says:
and I should ask her to PLEASE stop misdirecting her sex pics to me
lovely says:
and margot's profferings of horniness etc.
Tennessee says:
who's margot?
lovely says:
i made it up, sorry I was making a joke...
Tennessee says:
oh i see
Tennessee says:
I wish our profferings could be put in boxes that we could trade and use at appropriate opportunities.
lovely says:
yes
Tennessee says:
: (
lovely says:
ha?
Tennessee says:
dull answer
Tennessee says:
you still filing?
lovely says:
yes but have been usurped for packing up packages and doing the mail.
lovely says:
:)
Tennessee says:
oh that's good
Tennessee says:
a change
Tennessee says:
i'm having a hard time focusing on work
Tennessee says:
partially because of the internet (looking at backpacks @llbean) and partially because the guy next to me has his computer reading everything aloud in robot voice
lovely says:
haaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa
lovely says:
how are the backpacks?
Tennessee says:
slow website
lovely says:
man
lovely says:
sometimes this place drives me coocoo
Tennessee says:
mmm. yes.
Tennessee says:
i can't do the mug pickup and groceries stops on the way home
lovely says:
ok, no problem.
lovely says:
I can :)
lovely says:
I sent selene a note asking if she'd be interested in partaking in dinner,
Tennessee says:
but i'm excited about the mugs and dinner with you -- we can do dinner at my place or at beth's... i'm free to travel
lovely says:
but saying that you said she might be busy
lovely says:
so that it's fine if she's not interested
Tennessee says:
has she responded?
lovely says:
no
lovely says:
I just sent it a few minutes ago
Tennessee says:
ah
lovely says:
the ebay lady never wrote me back
lovely says:
I got a money order today thoguh
lovely says:
I'll just send it.
lovely says:
yeah?
Tennessee says:
yeah. otherwise you lose the money. if she's already gotten rid of the shirt, maybe she'll take the money order and reimburse you.
Tennessee says:
right?
Tennessee says:
or can you cash a money order yourself?
Tennessee says:
anyway, odds are she still has the shirt right? 'cause she can't seem to get anyone to bid on it
lovely says:
i bet she'll be fair about it in any case--
lovely says:
right
lovely says:
:)
lovely says:
most popular jewish surname first letters:
lovely says:
g. k. & s.
lovely says:
so many gold________ s!
lovely says:
oh also w
Tennessee says:
gold...
watches
teeth
rings
bugs
members
medals

Tennessee says:
um
Tennessee says:
rushes
Tennessee says:
nuggets
Tennessee says:
bars
Tennessee says:
coins, medallions, doubloons
lovely says:
members
Tennessee says:
i already said that
lovely says:
oh damn.
Tennessee says:
haha
Tennessee says:
bananas!
lovely says:
ha
lovely says:
have you heard back from selene about tongiht?
Tennessee says:
about whether she wants dinner?
lovely says:
ya
Tennessee says:
no
Tennessee says:
i expect she'll reply to you, or pretend she didn't see the message until she sees you in person
lovely says:
ahh
Tennessee says:
i just thought "oh my god, girls, they're infuriating" and then i realized it's not girls, it's a person's intersection with them, and all the wacky stuff that's in my life by way of girls is stuff that i do myself... that wasn't very well described, but the implications of the brain flicker are:
1) girls are mr. miagis of social living, where boys are daniel-san
Tennessee says:
2) i'm all the complexity of girl, with the ineptitude and weak temperment of boy
lovely says:
ha
lovely says:
am I mr/miagi??
Tennessee says:
and even when i think i'm doing just fine, even the most innocuous girl could easily grab me by the wrist and flip me upside down
lovely says:
?
Tennessee says:
you know when mr miagi gets mad
Tennessee says:
he growls and even though he's littlle, you suddenly know he's way more an embodiment of the karate life than daniel is, even though daniel is the star and wins a tournament
Tennessee says:
boys are amateurs in social stuff. girls are all black belts.
Tennessee says:
yes, you're mr miagi
selene is mr. miagi
laura is mr. miagi
our moms are mr. miagi
jim
Tennessee says:
jim's girl is mr. miagi
Tennessee says:
my grandma is mr. miagi
lovely says:
haaa your grandmother IS mr.miagi....much more than your mom--
lovely says:
the way she talks on one level,
lovely says:
PERFECTLY
Tennessee says:
i'm just starting to see what's really happening here, in life
lovely says:
while entertianging conflicting thoguhts, sopshitcated critiques, in conflict with what she's saying
lovely says:
about what's true
Tennessee says:
it's a true mastery
lovely says:
what made you think that just now?
Tennessee says:
i just lost patience with the whole thing for a second
Tennessee says:
that selene would pretend to not have received the message in response to your having sent a special email to offer... that whole thing just frustrated me for a second
lovely says:
ah
Tennessee says:
it's the kind of thing that appears in my life a lot, that i participate in and often generate myself... which are perfectly legitimate and interesting and not characterized as bad at all, but sometimes there are brief moments when that sort of stuff can reveal itself to be ridiculous and tedious, so the other half of me wants to discard it
Tennessee says:
in that second of frustration
Tennessee says:
it's the half of me that storms away from the old car mr. miagi has asked me to wax as part of my training...
lovely says:
haaa
Tennessee says:
but then i ride my bike angrily to the santa monica pier
Tennessee says:
and think for a bit
Tennessee says:
and then find myself practicing crane kicks in front of the setting sun
Tennessee says:
it's inescapable... being a girl. daniel was part girl. i'm part girl. i just need to muster discipline like he did, in order to stop getting my butt kicked.
lovely says:
ah, the girl just wrote me back. admirably.
lovely says:
she and i--admirable.
Tennessee says:
you're both admirable?
Tennessee says:
brb
lovely says:
ya both admirable. ha.
lovely says:
nice email--
lovely says:
hi becky,

i would have replied sooner but i just received your email upon escaping from a long brainstorming meeting with the director of my oddball department.


lovely says:
tonight. linda is still around and jenlene is coming over. jenlene and i always have an agenda...some of which always happens and some of which does not. but we always have fun. tonight's agenda includes:
1. looking up show info for our upcoming trip to ny
2. watching a movie [possibly of the musical variety]
3. eating
4. feeling good

lovely says:
obviously dinner could fit easily with item 3. however, i don't yet know when jenlene will be over...so i hesitate to suggest plans be made around us.

if dinner was to occur at the apt and i was in any way involved, i've vote for lo mein stir fry. but the alternative is far from repulsive.

lovely says:

so, all together, i've given you no answer whatsoever. but hopefully i offered useful information...?

selene

lovely says:
that's it.
lovely says:
the repulsive thing referred to me asking whether she'd prefer macaroni and cheese or lo mein stir fry type thing,
lovely says:
and if alternately she foiund either one esp. repulsive.
lovely says:
she didn't throw out repulsive on her own
lovely says:
so I wrote back telling her that that soudns good, and that she and jenlene could join in the lo menin if they wanted--and that if they wanted something else apart from that/instead of that, that fine--
lovely says:
so there's an update for you.
Tennessee says:
thanks
lovely says:
:)
Tennessee says:
that's nice
lovely says:
i tink that was a nice message form selene
Tennessee says:
it's weird how selene was once a fun and rewarding element in my life and now i want it all gone
i don't know what to think. it makes me wonder what exactly i know about life.
Tennessee says:
anyway
Tennessee says:
i'm leaving in a minute
Tennessee says:
you go to beth's, then mugs, then FF, then ballston?
lovely says:
mmm star wars.
lovely says:
maybe we just ease up on ourselves and keep reading lemony snicket,
lovely says:
becasue I havea a hunch that evil
lovely says:
gets complicated in the last 3 or 4
lovely says:
coming up.
Tennessee says:
neat
Tennessee says:
are you sleeping with me tonight?
lovely says:
you want me to?
Tennessee says:
yes
lovely says:
oh ok!
Tennessee says:
nice
Tennessee says:
so, beth's, mugs, FF, ballston?
lovely says:
yeah I think I'll skip beth's thoguh...
lovely says:
it will make it faster for me.
Tennessee says:
ok
lovely says:
easier to maybe make a goal of dinner around 7:30?
Tennessee says:
ok
Tennessee says:
ok thanks ofr doing all that
Tennessee says:
i'll see you later
lovely says:
byebye love you


0 Comments

 First

 List

 Email

 Comments

 Latest

statcounter.com